Beware of Hoarder’s Syndrome

I don’t know if there actually IS such a thing as Hoarder’s syndrome, but there should be. It happens when I innocently turn on TV and get sucked into watching “Hoarders, Buried Alive” or something similar. Within 10 minutes, I have an uncontrollable urge to clean something, ANYTHING. I just grab a trash bag, and start in on a drawer, or a closet or the bookshelf.  Something MUST leave the house, and now!

I’ve been doing a lot of de-cluttering lately. I think de-cluttering will be the catch-phrase of our decade. But in an effort to fit into Claymire’s 1200 square feet a little more comfortably, I’ve been cleaning out. It’s not my job to preserve all of history in my house. That’s what I have my museum for. Here’s what went this week…

happy trails, old stuff!

Lot’s of goodies, for sure, including an antique picnic basket and tons of books and sewing notions. I won’t miss them a bit! Hoarding guilt assuaged, for now. And the house feels luxuriously large! And someone at Salvation Army is going to find some treasures!

After three weeks of this, chipping away at it, I have 1/2 of a closet empty, an entire dresser, and a drawer of the buffet.

Sometimes I amaze myself. Where did it all come from, in the first place? Is it multiplying in a dark closet at night?  Maybe I should leave a light on in the closet?

What could you throw out and never miss?

About claymire cottage

I'm a museum curator who lives with a wonderful husband, Rowley the golden Retriever, and 2 cats; Mr. Cookie, and Mabel the Magnificent.

Leave a Reply

