My love affair

Don’t worry, no one is stepping out on mr husband! my current love affair is with Gustavian Swedish decor.

Living in Michigan, it is only slightly brighter during the winter months than I expect Sweden is. Okay, maybe I exaggerate, but I spend the summer under a canopy of lush old growth oaks, and it gets pretty dreary sometimes.

Growing up surrounded by antiques and rugs and fabrics in an 1837 farmhouse with wood heat. (insert rocking chair creaking here), I bought into the idea of “warming up” a room for winter with dark curtains to draw the heat and make the home cozy in the winter.

Well, it’s cold in Scandinavian countries, and their philosophy is just the opposite. And I love it. Look at this…

I don’t remember where I found this, so my apologies and thanks to the original poster. I love this clean, bright, welcoming home, all decorated for Christmas.

Or this one.

Claymire will never be this elegant

So pretty. These are all-white or gray interiors that are anything but boring! And they manage to be cozy, too. I find them very inspiring.

Claymire’s kitchen is cave-like in its darkness. Here’s an old picture, before we painted.

My handsome son

Yuck, I hated all that darkness and clutter. And here it is this morning, with all it’s typical morning stuff going on.

I like this much better

And a cute little shelf for some of my enormous barware collection, mostly from my grandmother.

The glass pattern is called "constellation."

This is what I see when I walk in the front door, looking beyond the dining room:

mr husband loves our bread machine!

It was a real shoe-string project, but we are happy with it. mr husband was very reluctant (to say the least!) to let me paint the cabinets, but I think he’s coming around to a toleration of my love affair with paint, and all things white, bright and clean!

What’s your relationship with paint? have you painted cabinets or furniture?

About claymire cottage

I'm a museum curator who lives with a wonderful husband, Rowley the golden Retriever, and 2 cats; Mr. Cookie, and Mabel the Magnificent.

Leave a Reply

