Loveseat completed

Well, it’s finally finished. The ratty old loveseat is refreshed and ready for her new home. Remember this:

1970s loveseat, before

As Cousin Eddie from Christmas Vacation would say, “It’s a good quality piece,” made by Broyhill, solidly built, and cheap, to boot!

Sanded, masked, painted stained, here she is ready for her cushions:

I just covered the spring deck with heavy muslin

I am really happy with the way this front part came out

We're not in the 70's anymore!

here it is in the living room. I didn’t really stage the room, just stuck it there and took a few pics. Didn’t notice the bird pictures on the wall behind it are crooked. Oh Well…

gained two feet of floor space and only lost 1 seat!

I can walk to the window now! And the seating group is cozy without feeling crowded.

This wasn’t my first choice of fabric, but what I wanted wasn’t in the budget right now. So I used these curtains from Target:

Lots of yardage for the price

It took two sets of curtains, since the cushions are very deep, and I did them in one piece. Super easy, and I’m usually a disaster at sewing cushions. Thank you to my wonderful MIL for the tip! The color is a little light for the room, but it will do for now, and I’ll probably treat it with Scotchguard, anyway.

So to sum up:
Craigslist loveseat: $40
spray paint, stain and sandpaper: $22
10 yard bolt of batting from JoAnn: $12.70 (I had a coupon!)
Two sets of curtains from Target: $40.26
New loveseat: $114.96

This was my inspiration:

Pottery Barn Futon, such great lines

And this:

Tommy Bahama Home Royal Kahala, so elegant!

What do you think? How did I do?

About claymire cottage

I'm a museum curator who lives with a wonderful husband, Rowley the golden Retriever, and 2 cats; Mr. Cookie, and Mabel the Magnificent.

2 responses to “Loveseat completed”

  1. Rachei says :

    Love it! You did an awesome job! Very creative…I like the curtain idea as the upholstery.

  2. Dane Caldwell says :

    Clever! It’s wonderful how potential can be found in the ugliest of things. I will never look at those 70’s seats the same.

    Thanks so much for your kind words on my blog!

    *bisous*
    Dane

Leave a Reply

