Small House Creativity

Having spent the last 14 years in a 1200 square foot post-war minimal traditional, I’ve come to appreciate the ingenuity and creativity of those dedicated to living in small homes. Compared to them, my place is spacious, but decorating and storage can still be a challenge.

I’ve seen a lot of fantastic new ideas for storage, but of course, being an historian, I like to look to the past for inspiration as well. Here is one of my favorites:

So clever-there's a storage drawer under each of these stairs!

Not only do they serve as hidden storage, taking up no floor space, they slide away. Of course, it could be inconvenient if you need to go upstairs several times a day, but otherwise, I love it. They had some pretty innovative ideas in the 1920s.

It love this linen cupboard, too, built right into the wall of the hallway. I would love those drawers!

In our kitchen, we had a large, unusable corner that housed the brooms and mops, laundry machines, and whatever junk happened to accumulate. So mr husband built a wall, put in a sliding door for the pantry, and this closet door:

Is actually:

This is the laundry "room"

Clever huh? It is still in the kitchen, but at least I don’t have to look at it! And I can use the kitchen table to fold clothes.  It also provided for a pantry behind it, which opens in the kitchen, so I don’t have to look at all the cook books, dog food, brooms, etc.

there's the pantry behind that sliding door, just don't look inside!

I’d love to see other clever storage ideas.

About claymire cottage

I'm a museum curator who lives with a wonderful husband, Rowley the golden Retriever, and 2 cats; Mr. Cookie, and Mabel the Magnificent.

Leave a Reply

