Content with what we have…with improvements

Claymire is just a small house. Not as small as it was before the 1969 “family room” addition, but pretty small at just over 1200 square feet. I’m sure there is someone out there reading this thinking “wow, that’s twice the size we live in,” so I’m not going to complain about a small house. Generally, I like it.

Living in a small house has its conveniences. It’s only steps to the laundry room, since it is in a kitchen closet.

No single room requires more than a gallon of paint.

I can vacuum the whole thing in about 10 minutes, If I’m not too thorough….

It has it’s negatives, as anyone who lives in a smaller house could attest.

We recently looked at and seriously considered buying an absolutely charming 1926 home. In addition to the four bedrooms and two bathrooms, over 1900 sq feet, it had two – count’em, two! – sunrooms, a huge basement, almost 1/2 an acre and tremendous expansion potential.

Isn't she beautiful?

After a few sleepless nights on my part – mr husband doesn’t like to think about these things, and he wasn’t in love with the house, I was – we decided it was really much more than we wanted or needed.

What we DO want, is more storage in the kitchen. Even after cleaning out the clutter, we still have a lot of kitchen stuff. We like to cook.

I collect milk glass mixing bowls, and mixing bowls in general. We have five sets of them, and they all get used! So we started thinking about the kitchen….

our top cabinets stop at least a foot short of the ceiling

The cabinets are in good shape, for their age, and we don’t want to do a complete renovation. Could we just add cabinets to the existing cabinets, after removing the crown moulding?

So I hunted up a few pictures for inspiration. My apologies to the owners, I don’t remember where I found them!

What a cheerful kitchen, so much character. Do you see the plate rack? I want one!

These are gorgeous. I love the windows, too, which no amount of begging will provide!

This is my favorite. I like the little glass-sided cabinets by the window, too. The top cabinets are narrow, but would still hold lots of stuff

How about some clever little storage ideas?

This is terrific. You don't need a corner cabinet to fit this in.

Snazzy little pull-out drawers for pots and pans

Wish I could remember where I found these!

Maybe bringing the cabinets all the way to the ceiling is the answer…for now. It isn’t that we have SOO much stuff, but we want to be able to find what we have, when we need it. I’m sure you can relate.

What do you think of cabinets going all the way to the ceiling? Good storage idea, or not? Have you done this?

About claymire cottage

I'm a museum curator who lives with a wonderful husband, Rowley the golden Retriever, and 2 cats; Mr. Cookie, and Mabel the Magnificent.

Leave a Reply

